FAQ:

What is a “powder wine”?

To make wine from the powder is impossible. It will not be wine, it will be water drink. Wine is a product of alcohol fermentation of grape juice. “Powder wine” is a myth, which was born during “No alcohol” law in USA when people, who sold an alcohol could get to prison. But so-called “powder-briquettes” could be sold legally. Nowadays it is so strange to believe in this legend. Why, for example, the winemakers of "Shabo" company evaporated juice of the grape to a powder, and then to restore it to make wine? “Shabo” has 1200 hectares of vineyards, more than 4 million vines and one of the best in Europe winery equipment … So, when people still talk about “powder wine”, they confuse the concept of low-quality wine and falsification (fake).

What Shabo logotype means?

“Shabo’s” company logo is combined logotype, which consists of 2 parts – complicated graphic symbol and word “Shabo”. Complicated graphic symbol. At first it is an ancient symbol of bandaged vine (trellis and vine). Secondly, in symbol we can see upper letters “T” (vertical) and “Ш” (eng. “sh”) (rotated 180 degrees), that means “Terroir” + “Shabo”. Symbol impersonates uniqueness of Shabo terroir. Thirdly, we can see in logotype two letters “Ш” (eng. “sh”). That means “Shabo” + “Swiss colonists”. Date 1822 indicates establishment of the Shabo Swiss Colony. Word SHABO. As it is known, Shabo is a name of place. “Shabo” is written in English, which became a language of international communication many years ago. Roman alphabet highlights Swiss (European) roots of Shabo viticulture and winemaking.

What is the history of “Shabo” word origin?

The word “Shabo” originated from Turkish. The eldest variant of writing is Aşağа Ba’a (1694), elder is Acha-Abag (1788). The word translated as "lower vineyard, the lower vine gardens". Lower, because vineyards were situated lower than Akkerman city (present Belgorod-Dnestrovsky). In 1822 Swiss settlers established wine making colony in this area. It was very difficult to say Acha-Abag for them, that’s why they named their colony briefly and in the French manner „Chabag“, and then “Shaba”. Today it is called “Shabo”.

What is the “one night” wine?

Gree pink wine «Shabo» is created by rose method using “one night” technology. The amazing pink color wine gets not for mixing (blending) of red and white wine, but by insisting on pulp mash for only one night at low temperatures - to enhance extraction of color and aromas. To save freshness we make fermentation of the must is carried out at low temperatures +15 - + 16° C.

Is it true that good wine is an expensive wine?

When we buy wine, we don’t always think that we pay for its remote transportation, advertising, excise duty etc. That’s why import wine (even not a good quality) can cost a lot of money in Ukraine. Available price of Ukrainian high-quality wines is often a result of short delivery routes, optimization of marketing costs and the realities of the local market.

What is the secret of sparkling wines high quality?

It is known, that a secret of quality of sparkling wine rests on “three pillars”: - existence of special types of champagne grapes. For its growing we need special natural conditions – terroir - existence of modern equipment for strict control of all processes of creating sparkling wines - and, finally, one of the most important thing – high-class specialists, masters to create a classic method sparkling wine (champagnization in a bottle) and by the method of Charmat In "Shabo" company sparkling wines are created with all of these requirements.

Are grapes in Shabo collected by hand?

For Shabo Reserve wines and for Shabo sparkling wines grapes are collected in the early morning only by hand, carefully stacked up to 13 kg in special boxes. The boxes are loaded into refrigerated trucks and 15 minutes after grapes are in receiving and processing department. For other wines Shabo grape is collected by hand too, but without packing in boxes, or by modern imported combine.

Does Shabo have enough own grape?

There are about 1200 hectares of vineyards in Shabo. It is about 4 million elite vines, about 10 billion grape berries for a season. That’s why “Shabo” company has enough grape to create high-quality products – still and sparkling wines, cognac of Ukraine, brandy, vermouth and vodka Shabo.

What is a kvevri?

From ancient times in Georgia people have used special, only one in the world practice wine production method, which was named "Kakheti". The grapes together with the skin and seeds are usually pressed by feet (according to tradition it was done only by men). It is one of the most tender process for producing must, because grape seeds are not damaged and don’t give the bitterness to a wine. Thus highlighted grape juice had run along the grooves in the ground pitchers kvevri for fermentation, aging, and further storage. Kvevri (accent on “e”) is clay cone-shaped vessel. They are fully laid in the ground, often in marani – in Georgian wine cellar, and only pitcher inlet was on the floor level. Capacities of such pitchers reach 500 dekaliters. Vessel is tightly closed with stone and covered with ground, a thick layer of ground provided stable temperature regime about 140С for wines. Term of aging defines the style of wine. Thus, the high level of Kakheti wine tannins (pleasant tartness, extractivity) turned out not by contact with oak wood, but thanks to the insistence on the pulp, sometimes even on the crests of the bunch. That's how experts explain the powerful healing properties of Kakheti wine. During the tour in “Wine Culture Centre Shabo” guests have an opportunity to become acquainted with this unique technology in so-called “Georgian cellar”.

FAQ:

Что такое «порошковое вино»?

Сделать вино из порошка нельзя. Это уже будет не вино, а некий напиток на воде. Вино же - продукт алкогольного брожения виноградного сока. «Порошковое вино» - это миф, который зародился во времена сухого закона в США, когда за торговлю вином можно было сесть в тюрьму, а вот так называемые «порошковые брикеты» можно было продавать легально. В наше время верить в эту легенду, по меньшей мере, странно. Зачем, например, виноделам компании «Шабо» выпаривать виноградный сок до порошкового состояния, чтобы затем восстанавливать его для производства вина? Ведь компания имеет 1200га виноградников, более 4 миллионов виноградных лоз, а винодельческое оборудование здесь – одно из лучших в Европе… По-видимому, когда все-таки говорят о «порошковом вине», путают понятия некачественного вина и откровенного фальсификата (подделки).

Что значит логотип Shabo?

Фирменный знак компании «Шабо» - это комбинированный логотип, который состоит из 2-х частей – сложного графического знака и слова Shabo. Сложный графический знак. Во-первых, это древний знак подвязанной виноградной лозы (шпалера и лоза). Во-вторых, в знаке просматриваются прописные буквы - «Т» (вертикально) и «Ш» (повернуто на 180 градусов), что значит, «Терруар» + «Шабо». Знак олицетворяет уникальность шабского терруара. В-третьих, в логотипе можно усмотреть 2 буквы «Ш», что означает «Шабо» + «Швейцарские колонисты». На дату основания швейцарской винодельческой колонии Шабо указывает также цифра - 1822. Слово SHABO. Как известно, Шабо – это название местности. В логотипе Shabo написано на английском языке, который уже давно стал языком международного общения. Латиница подчеркивает также швейцарские (европейские) корни виноградарства и виноделия Шабо.

Какова история происхождения слова Шабо?

Слово Шабо произошло из турецкого языка. Самый старый вариант написания - Aşağа Ba’a (1694), более поздний - Acha-Abag (1788). Слово переводится, как «нижний виноградный сад, нижние виноградные сады». Нижний потому, что расположены были виноградники ниже г.Аккерман (ныне г.Белгород-Днестровский). В 1822 году швейцарские переселенцы основали в этой местности свое винодельческое поселение. Для них произношение слова Acha-Abag оказалось сложным, потому они назвали свою колонию коротко на французский манер «Шабагъ» („Chabag“), а потом «Шаба». Так получилось сегодняшнее название «Шабо».

Что такое вино «одной ночи»?

Розовое молодое вино «Shabo» сознано методом розе с применением технологии «одной ночи». Свой изумительный розовый цвет вино приобретает не из-за смешения (купажирования) красного и белого базового вина, а методом настаивание сусла на мезге в течение всего лишь одной ночи при низких температурах - для усиления экстракции цвета и ароматических веществ. Для сохранения свежести брожение сусла осуществляется при низких температурах - +15 + 16°С

Правда ли, что хорошее вино обязательно - дорогое вино?

Покупая вино, мы не всегда задумываемся, что часть суммы платим за его удаленную транспортировку, рекламу, акцизный сбор и др. Вот и получается, что импортное вино, пусть даже не самого лучшего качества, в Украине может стоить немалых денег. Доступная же цена высококачественных вин украинских производителей - чаще всего результат коротких маршрутов доставки, оптимизация маркетинговых затрат и учет реалий местного рынка.

В чем секрет высокого качества игристых вин?

Известно, что секрет качественного игристого вина держится на «трех китах»: - наличие особых сортов винограда шампанского направления, для выращивания которых нужны особые природные условия местности - терруар - наличие современного оборудования для строгого соблюдения всех технологических процессов создания игристых вин - и, наконец, главное - специалисты высокого класса, мастера по созданию игристых вин классическим методом шампанизации в бутылке и по методу Шарма В компании «Шабо» игристые вина созданы с учетом всех этих требований.

Собирают ли в «Шабо» виноград вручную?

Для вин Шабо Резерв и игристых вин Шабо виноград собирают ранним утром и только вручную, аккуратно укладывают до 13 кг в специальные ящики. Ящики загружают в рефрижераторы, и уже через 15 минут виноград в отделении по приему и переработке. Для остальных же вин Шабо виноград собирают также вручную, но без укладки в ящики, или же с помощью современного импортного комбайна.

Хватает ли компании «Шабо» собственного винограда?

В Шабо около 1200 га виноградников, а это около 4 млн элитных виноградных лоз, более 10 млрд виноградных ягод за сезон. Поэтому компании «Шабо» вполне хватает винограда для создания высококачественной продукции – тихих и игристых вин, коньяков, бренди, вермутов и виноградной водки Шабо.

Что такое квеври?

С древнейших времен в Грузии использовали особый, единственный в мировой практике способ производства вина, который получил название «кахетинский». Виноград вместе с кожицей и косточками обычно давили ногами (по традиции это делали только мужчины). Это самый нежный способ получения сусла, т.к. не повреждаются косточки, которые при дроблении придают горечь вину. Выделенный таким образом виноградный сок стекал по желобам в подземные кувшины-квеври для брожения, выдержки и дальнейшего хранения. Квеври (ударение на Е) - глиняные конусообразные сосуды. Их полностью закапывали в землю, чаще всего в марани – в грузинском винном погребе, и только отверстие кувшина находилось на уровне пола. Емкости таких кувшинов доходят до 500 декалитров. Сосуды плотно закрывались каменными крышками и засыпались землей, толстый слой земли обеспечивал винам стабильный температурный режим около 14`С. Срок выдержки определялся стилем вина. Таким образом, в кахетинских винах высокий уровень танинов (приятная терпкость, экстрактивность) получался не за счет контакта с дубовой древесиной, а благодаря настаиванию на мезге, порой и на гребнях виноградной грозди. Именно этим специалисты объясняют мощные лечебные свойства кахетинских вин. Во время экскурсии по «Центру культуры вина Шабо» гости имеют возможность познакомиться с этой уникальной технологией в так называемом «Грузинском погребе».