Portugal

Portugal is the birthplace of Port wine and Madera, unusual green wines, fine white dry, and high-acid red wines. The Portuguese boast a rich range of autochthonous varieties: Baga, Trincadeira, Aragonez, Jaen, Ramisco, Alicante Bouschet, Touriga Francesa, and many others. Vineyards in Portugal occupy over 300 thousand hectares of land. Wine-producing regions include Vinho Verde, Algarve, Bairrada, Alentejo, Dão, Bucelas, Douro, Colares, Madeira, Tejo and Lisbon. As for classification, Portuguese wines were until recently labeled according to age: young and mature. Today’s appellation system is close to French and is based on the terroir principle. Labeling tiers include: DOC (Denominação de Origem Controlada), the supreme category that includes 29 labels, followed by IPR (Indicação de Proveniência Regulamentada, similar to French VDQS), Vinho Regional (the same as French VDP regional wines), and finally Vinho de Mesa (table wine).

Spain

Systematic cultivation of grape in Spain began in the 8th century BC when Greeks first colonized this area. Today, Spain, along with France and Italy, is ranked among the top three wine producers in Europe and first in terms of the total vineyard area (1.1 million ha). Spain has the total of 17 wine-producing regions, with Andalucía, Catalonia, Rioja, La Mancha and Castile and León being the most famous. Native Spanish grape varieties are little known and not among the most widely planted. The only exceptions are Albariño, a white grape variety also cultivated in Portugal, and Macabeo, which can also be found in California, Italy, and Morocco. Garnacha enjoys certain respect among French winemakers, but the most commonly known and cultivated Spanish variety outside the country is red Tempranillo. In total, over 300 grape varieties are grown in Spain. Spanish wines are labeled according to a two-tier classification: VdM (Vinos de Mesa, or table wines) and VCPRD (Vino de Calidad Producido en Región Determinad, or Quality Wine Produced in a Specific Region; this tier also includes DO (Denominación de Origen) and DOCa (Denominación de Origen Calificada)); in turn, each of the two labeling groups has several quality levels.

France

France gave the world some of the most important winemaking terms: ‘terroir’ and ‘appellation’, famous grape varieties (Cabernet-Sauvignon, Merlot, Syrah, Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot varieties), and exemplary wines. The origins of winemaking in France date back to the 6th century BC, and today, it became one of the country’s calling cards. France’s vineyards occupy almost 900 thousand hectares of land, and every year, French winemakers produce some 8 billion bottles of wine. France is legislatively divided into 16 winemaking regions (including Cognac, Armagnac, and Calvados), and the best known of them are: Bordeaux, Burgundy, Rhone Valley, Loire Valley, Languedoc-Roussillon, Champagne, and Alsace. Each of these regions has an unparalleled terroir and unique varieties. That explains the great diversity of French wines. France has the most complex wine classification system in the world and was the first to introduce standardization, which subsequently was borrowed by other winemaking countries. Moreover, the French approach to classification of wines and vineyards provided the basis for the universal classification system approved by the European Union.

Germany

In Germany, vineyards are planted along the Rhine and Mosel Rivers on the sun-drenched banks rich in shale and basalt, two minerals that excellently retain the warmth. Local climate is favorable for the production of high-quality white wines notable for the perfect balance of acidity and sweetness. Therefore, not surprisingly, white varieties are grown on over 80% of the total area of Germany’s vineyards (occupying over 100 thousand hectares of land). Among the most cultivated varieties are, first of all, Riesling, Müller-Thurgau, and Silvaner, while Spätburgunder (German for Pinot noir) is the most popular among red varieties. Germany has 13 legislatively designated winemaking regions, including Mosel, Palatinate, Baden, Ahr, Rheingau, and others. The German wine classification is based not on the terroir but on the sugar content due to climate considerations. The QmP (Qualitätswein mit Prädikat, or quality wine with specific attributes) level includes 6 categories depending on the grape ripening level (in order of increasing sugar levels in the must): Kabinett, Spätlese, Auslese, Beerenauslese, Eiswein, and Trockenbeerenauslese.

Italy

Italy has centuries-old winemaking history. Today’s winemaking Italy is comprised of 20 regions and 521 wine-producing areas. The country produces over 2500 brand names of wine, so almost every city and town in Italy has something to be proud of. As for the grape varieties - Nebbiolo, Sangiovese, and Nero d’Avola are considered the most famous autochthonous Italian varieties in the world. In addition, experts praise a number of other varieties, including Corvina, Cortese, Molinara, Rondinella, Glera, Canaiolo, Trebbiano, Malvasia Nera, and others. Italy has a four-tier classification system: DOCG – Denominazione di Origine Controllata e Garantita (controlled designation of origin guaranteed), DOC – Denominazione di Origine Controllata (controlled designation of origin), IGT – Indicazione Geografica Tipica (typical geographical indication) used to label high-quality local wines, and VdT – Vino da Tavola (table wine) used to label the simplest table wines.

Austria

We still have little knowledge of winemaking Austria, even though the country’s wine production history dates back to the 7th century BC. Over the centuries of turbulence, which saw scandals and declining reputation, today’s Austria shows excellent results. Yes, it isn’t the largest point on the wine map, but that cannot diminish its merits. Austria has four wine-producing regions: Vienna, Burgenland, Styria, and Lower Austria (Weinviertel, Kamptal, Kremstal, Wachau and Traisental). Overall, wine production is concentrated in the country’s eastern and southeastern parts where white Grüner Veltliner, Welschriesling and Müller-Thurgau and red Blaufränkisch, St. Laurent and Zweigelt are the leading grape varieties. In total, Austrians cultivate 22 white and 13 red grape varieties grown on some 51 thousand hectares of land. Climate in Austria is not unlike in Burgundy, so grape varieties resemble Slovakian and quality labels are similar to Germany’s where sugar content is the determining criterion. In 2014, Austria has introduced a three-tier quality designation scheme for sparkling wines.

Moldova

For decades, winemaking has been one of Moldova’s priority sectors of economy, and today, 95% of the country’s wine production output is exported. In the past, the key sales market was Russia, but today, the country is reorienting itself toward Europe and Asia. Moldova has four wine-producing regions: Northern (Balti), Central (Codru), Southern (Cahul), and Southeastern (Nistreana). The winemaking potential of this area has been fully revealed since the early 19th century by French and German colonists. Vineyards occupy the total of 147 thousand hectares of land where, in addition to traditional international varieties, Moldova’s autochthonous varieties, such as Fetească Albă, Fetească Regală, and Rara Neagră, are cultivated. The country’s largest region is Codru (87 thousand ha), where vineyards are planted among wooded hills. The southern region supplies base wine for sparkling, dessert and red dry wines, while Balti specializes in fortified wines.

Ukraine

Winemaking in Ukraine has been historically predetermined: our country has advantageous geographical location, and its climate favors grape growing. Not surprisingly, during the Soviet era Ukraine was the main wine producer. The origins of winemaking in our country date back to the 4th century BC (in Crimea), going 2500 years back in the present-day Odesa Region. Ukraine’s main wine-producing regions include Odesa (52 thousand ha of vineyards), Kherson (20 thousand ha), Mykolaiv (15 thousand ha) and Transcarpathian (8 thousand ha) Oblasts and Crimea Additionally, small vineyards are planted in other regions of Ukraine. The varietal diversity of grapes in Ukraine is represented by the internationally selected and also several autochthonous varieties. The most renowned autochthonous variety is Telti Kuyruk cultivated on in Shabo terroir. The most widely planted selected variety is Odesa Black and Sukhyi Liman White, while Saperavi, Aligote, Rkatsiteli, Cabernet-Sauvignon, Chardonnay, and Riesling are the most popular international varieties.

China

The history of winemaking in China is 5 thousand years old. However, the modern breakthrough has occurred only in the late 20th century, and today, China is considered one of the world’s leading wine producers. Thus, in 2012 the industry has generated $1.55 billion in revenues. The seriousness of intentions and processes are best manifested in the names of companies investing in China’s wine production industry: Rémy Martin was the first, soon followed by the Torres family and Beijing Friendship, which includes Pernod Ricard. Today, Europeans continue to develop Chinese land where, in addition to native varieties, they successfully cultivate European varieties including Riesling, Chardonnay, Cabernet-Sauvignon, and others. The best grape growing location is Shandong peninsula in southern China. Nevertheless, the main flow of table wines comes from Xinjiang, an autonomous region in the northwest of the country, but the winters there are so cold that the vineyards have to be blanketed. Overall, China has the so-called ‘wine belt’, which includes five main wine-producing regions: Hebei, Shanxi, Yantai-Penglai, Helan Mountains and Xinjiang Tian Shan.

Португалия

Португалия – это родина портвейнов и мадеры, необычных зеленых вин, тонких сухих белых и высококислотных красных. Здесь сохранен богатый автохтонный сортовой фонд: Бага, Тринкадейра, Арагонеш, Жаэн, Рамиску, Аликант Буше, Турига Франсеза и многие другие. Под виноградники в Португалии отведено более 300 тыс. гектаров земель, винопроизводством занимаются в регионах Виньо Верде, Алгарви, Байррада, Алентежу, Дао, Буселаш, Дору, Колареш, Мадейра, Тежу и Лиссабон. Что касается классификации, то еще совсем недавно вина классифицировались по возрасту – молодые и зрелые. Сегодня классификация близка к французской, строится по принципу терруарности и имеет свои Denominação de Origem Controlada или DOC – это высшая категория и к ней относится 29 наименований. Затем следуют Indicacao de proveniencia regulamentada (аналог французской VDQS), Vinho Regional (тоже самое, что французские региональные вина VDP) и столовое Vinho de Mesa.

Испания

Систематическое культивирование винограда в Испании началось в период колонизации территории греками – VIII век до н.э. Сегодня эта страна наравне с Францией и Италией, входит в тройку лидеров винной Европы и даже занимает первое место по объемам территорий отведенных под лозы – 1,1 млн. гектаров. Всего в Испании 17 винодельческих регионов, Андалусия, Каталония, Риоха, Ла-Манча, Кастилия и Леон – наиболее известные их них. Аборигенные сорта винограда Испании – малоизвестные и не самые распространенные. Исключение, белые сорта Альбариньо, культивируемый также в Португалии, и Макабео, который можно встретить в Калифорнии, Италии и Марокко. Гарнача пользуется уважением некоторых виноделов Франции, и самый известный и распространенный за рубежом испанский виноград - красный Темпранильо. Всего в Испании произрастает свыше 300 сортов. Вина Испании делят на две группы: Vinos de mesa (столовые вина) и VQPRD (качественные вина, произведенные в строго обозначенных районах; сюда входят, в том числе, DO и DOCa), при этом каждая и групп, в свою очередь, имеет насколько ступеней качества.

Франция

Франция подарила миру самые известные в мире сорта винограда (Каберне-Совиньон, Мерло, Сира, Шардоне, Совиньон Блан и сорта группы Пино), важнейшие в виноделии понятия «терруар» и «аппелласьон» , а также самые лучшие, достойные подражания вина. Виноделие во Франции зародилось еще в VI веке до н.э., и к сегодняшнему дню стало одним из символов страны. Под виноградники здесь отведено порядка 900 тыс. гектаров земли, ежегодно французы производят около 8 млрд бутылок вина. Законодательно Франция поделена на 16 регионов (включая Коньяк, Арманьяк и Кальвадос), а наиболее известные среди них – Бордо, Бургундия, Шампань, Долина Роны, Долина Луары, Эльзас и Лангедок-Руссильон. Каждый из них имеет свой неповторимый терруар и сортовой фонд. Именно поэтому вина Франции столь разнообразны. Во Франции действует самая сложная классификация вин в мире, именно эта страна первой ввела стандартизацию, после подхваченную другими винными державами. И даже более того, именно французский подход к разделению вин и виноградников, лег в основу универсальной классификации, которую утвердили в Европейском союзе.

Германия

Виноградники в Германии высаживают вдоль рек Рейн и Мозель на солнечных склонах, богатых на сланец и базальт, удерживающих тепло. Климат здесь благоприятствует производству высококлассных белых вин, обладающих превосходным балансом кислотности и сладости. Не удивительно, что на белые сорта приходится свыше 80% всех виноградников (всего же под лозы отведено свыше 100 тыс. гектаров). В первую очередь, это Рислинг, Мюллер-Тургау и Сильванер, а среди красных самым популярным является Шпетбургундер (немецкое название Пино Нуара). В Германии законодательно определены 13 регионов, среди них, Мозель, Пфальц, Баден, Ар, Рейнгау и др. В Германии существует классификация вин не по терруару, а по содержанию сахара, что обосновано климатом. Качественные марочные вина с отличием Qualitatswein mit Pradikat (QMP). Среди «вин с предикатом» выделяют 6 категорий, которые отличаются по степени вызревания винограда: Kabinett, Spätlese, Auslese, Eiswein, Beerenauslese и самые сладкие Trockenbeerenauslese.

Италия

Несмотря на древнюю историю виноделия, только в ХIX веке началось его становление, а настоящий подъем пришелся на вторую половину ХХ в., когда местные виноделы стали перенимать опыт своих зарубежных коллег. Современная винная Италия – это 20 регионов и 521 винодельческая зона. Здесь насчитывается свыше 2500 наименований вин, так что практически каждый город Италии имеет собственный предмет для гордости. Что касается сортового состава, то наиболее известными в мире автохтонными итальянскими сортами винограда заслуженно считают Неббиоло, Санджовезе и Неро д`Аволо. Кроме того, эксперты ценят такие сорта, как Корвина, Кортезе, Молинара, Ронинелла, Глера, Канайоло, Треббьяно, Мальвазия Нера и др. Итальянцы имеют четырехуровневую классификацию: DOCG подразумевает контроль и гарантию наименования по месту происхождения, DOC – это контролируемые наименования по месту происхождения, IGT – переводится, как «типичное географическое наименование», или местное вино и самые простые столовые вина выпускают под обозначением VdT.

Австрия

О винной Австрии мы по-прежнему знаем очень мало, хотя история виноделия в этой стране берет начало в VII веке до н.э. Пройдя через века, пережив скандалы и падение репутации, сегодня Австрия показывает прекрасный результат. Безусловно, это не самая крупная точка на винной карте, однако это не умаляет ее достоинства. Австрия – это четыре винных региона – Вена, Бергенланд, Штирия и Нижняя Австрия (Вайнфиртель, Кампталь, Кремсталь, Вахау и Трайзенталь). В целом, виноделие сосредоточено в восточной и юго-восточной части страны, где в сортовом разнообразии лидируют белые Грюнер Вельтлинер, Вельшрислинг, Мюллер-Тургау и красные Блауфренкиш, Сен-Лорен и Цвайгельт. Всего же здесь культивируют 22 белых и 13 красных сортов винограда, занимающих порядка 51 тыс. гектаров земли. Климат Австрии схож с бургундским, сорта перекликаются со словацкими, а категории качества с немецкимим – определяющим критерием является содержание сахара в вине. Добавим, что в 2014 году в Австрии была создана трехуровневая пирамида качества для игристых вин.

Молдова

Уже много десятилетий виноделие остается одним из приоритетных сегментов экономики Молдовы и сегодня 95% продукции идет на экспорт. Раньше основным рынком сбыта была Россия, сегодня страна переориентируется на Европу и Азию. Здесь выделяют 4 винодельческих региона: Северный (Бельцы), Центральный (Кодры), Южный (Кагул) и Юго-Восточный. Потенциал местности раскрыли в 1800 году французские и немецкие колонисты. Самый крупный регион – Кодры (87 тыс. га), виноградники здесь расположены между лесистыми холмами. Южный регион является источником поставки виноматериалов для игристых, десертных и красных сухих вин, а вот на крепленых винах специализируются в Бельцах. Всего под виноградники отведено 147 тыс. гектаров земель, на которых помимо классических международных сортов культивируют такие автохтоны, как Фетяска Алба, Фетяска Регалэ и Рара Нягрэ.

Украина

Виноделие в Украине предопределено исторически: наша страна обладает выгодным географическим положением и умеренным климатом, благоприятным для выращивания винограда. Неудивительно, что в советские времена, Украина была основным поставщиком вина в стране. Истоки же виноделия зародились еще в IV веке до н.э. на территории Крыма и 2500 лет назад на территории современной Одесской области. Основные винодельческие регионы Украины: Одесская область (52 тыс. га виноградников), Херсонская (20 тыс. га), Николаевская (15 тыс. га) и Закарпатская (8 тыс. га). Кроме того, небольшие посадки есть в Запорожской области (3 тыс. га). Сортовое разнообразие Украины строится на международных и селекционных видах винограда, а также нескольких автохтонных. Самым известным из последних является Тельти-Курук, который успешно культивируется в шабском терруаре. Из селекционных наиболее распространен Одесский Черный и Сухолиманский Белый, а заимствованных – Саперави, Алиготе, Ркацители, Каберне-Совиньон, Шардоне и Рислинг.

Китай

Виноделие в Китае насчитывает 5 тыс. лет истории. Новый же рывок произошел в конце ХХ века и сегодня Китай считается одним из лидеров производства вина в мире. Так, в 2012 году доход от отрасли составил $1,55 млрд. О серьезности процессов свидетельствуют компании, которые инвестируют в производство: первой стала Remi Martin, за ней последовали семья Torres и Beijing Friendship, куда входит Pernod Ricard. Сегодня продолжается паломничество европейцев на китайские земли, где они помимо местных аборигенных сортов, успешно культивируют международные Рислинг, Шардоне, Каберне-Совиньон и др. Лучшим местом для их произрастания признан полуостров Шандун, расположенный на юге страны. А вот основной поток столовых вин идет из провинции Ксиньянь, что на дальнем северо-западе, но там настолько холодные зимы, что виноградники приходится укрывать. В целом, в Китае существует, так называемый, «винный пояс», куда входят 5 основных производственных областей, это Хебей Шахен, Чангли и Пенлай, горы Хелан и Синьцьзяньский Тяньшань.