ANCIENT PERIOD

Shabo is one of the oldest terroirs in Europe. Ancient Greeks are considered the forefathers of winemaking in this region. In the 6th century BC, Greek colonists founded the settlement of Tyras on the Black Sea shore (later known as Akkerman) and planted the first vineyards there. It happened no less and no more than 2.5 thousand years ago…

OTTOMAN PERIOD

The Ottoman period in this land began in the 16th century. The settlement was renamed to Aşa-abag, Turkish for ‘lower gardens’ (as vineyards were called back then). This name was given for a reason: the vineyards were located below Akkerman (present-day Bilhorod-Dnistrovskyi).
Various grape varieties were grown there, but there was one among them, which is still grown in Shabo and considered autochthonous: Telti-Kuruk, translated from Turkish as ‘fox tail’. Shabo has a special program of preserving these unique grapevines.

SWISS IMMIGRANTS

The beginning of cultural winemaking in this region is attributed to Swiss immigrants who founded here a winemaking settlement in 1822. After a long journey of 2.5 thousand kilometers, the Swiss from the faraway Canton of Vaud have arrived to Aşa-abag on the shore of the Dniester Estuary. Because of the difficult pronunciation, the Swiss have soon renamed their settlement – first to Shabag and then to Shabo.
The founder of the Swiss colony, Louis Tardan, wrote: ‘If you want to see the paradise on Earth, you won’t find a better place’. Thanks to the unique properties of local terroir and the exceptionally hardworking attitude of the Swiss immigrants, this area has gradually become a real grape growing country.
The Swiss brought European winemaking standards with them and planted these standards here. As a result, in 1847 Shabo wines won their first gold medal, thus originating a tradition of winning the highest awards at the world’s best tasting contests.

SOVIET PERIOD

During Soviet times, our company specialized in primary winemaking and was one of the largest in the Soviet Union. Shabo vineyards provided the base for scientific research. The company was growing grapes of many varieties and producing base wine for still and sparkling wines; vintage wines were highly popular, too.
Despite the best efforts of Mikhail Gorbachev’s ‘anti-alcohol campaign’, the locals were able to preserve the grape plantations and winemaking infrastructure. Nevertheless, during the years of perestroika the winemaking in Shabo has gradually declined…

NEW ERA OF WINEMAKING

Shabo’s centuries-old winemaking traditions were at the basis of foundation in 2003 of Shabo Wine Company, a Ukrainian winemaking complex with full production cycle. The company is engaged in grape growing, processing, production, and sales of Shabo alcoholic beverages made from selected grapes only.
In a short time, the company became one of the industry’s leaders. Today, wide range of Shabo beverages is sold in all regions of Ukraine and in Georgia, Israel, China, Poland, Latvia, Estonia, Belgium, France, Denmark, Czech Republic, USA, Brazil, Canada, Azerbaijan, Japan, Iraq, Norway and Great Britain.

Ancient
period

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

 

Ottoman
period

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

 

Swiss
period

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

 

Soviet
period

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

 

Our
days

АНТИЧНЫЕ ВРЕМЕНА

Шабо – один из древнейших терруаров Европы. Прародителями виноделия в этом регионе считаются древние греки. Именно они в VI-II вв. до рождества Христова основали на берегу Черного моря поселение Тира (позже – г. Аккерман) и первыми высадили здесь виноградники. А было это – ни много ни мало – более 2,5 тысяч лет назад…

ТУРЕЦКИЙ ПЕРИОД

В 16 веке в этих краях начался «турецкий период». Турецкое поселение получило название «Аша-абаг», что переводится как «нижние виноградные сады». Такое название было выбрано не случайно – территориально виноградники располагались ниже г. Аккерман (позже – г. Белгород-Днестровский).
Здесь выращивали разные сорта винограда, но среди них был один, который и по сей день произрастает в Шабо, и считается автохтонным – «Тельти Курук», что в переводе с турецкого означает «лисий хвост». Для сохранения этих уникальных виноградных лоз в компании «Шабо» создана специальная программа.

ШВЕЙЦАРСКИЕ ПЕРЕСЕЛЕНЦЫ

Начало культурного виноделия в этом регионе связано со швейцарскими переселенцами, основавшими здесь в 1822 году винодельческое поселение. Преодолев долгий путь в 2,5 тысячи километров, швейцарцы из далекого кантона Во прибывают на берег Днестровского лимана – в Аша-абаг. Правда, из-за трудности произношения они быстро переименовали свое поселение – сначала в Шабаг, а потом и в Шабо.
Основатель колонии Луи Тардан писал: «Если хотите увидеть рай на земле, лучшего места не найдете». Благодаря уникальным характеристикам терруара и исключительному трудолюбию швейцарских переселенцев эта территория постепенно превратилась в настоящий виноградарский край.
Именно швейцарцы привнесли на эту землю европейские стандарты виноделия. И как результат, в 1847 году шабские вина получили свою первую золотую медаль, положив, таким образом, начало своеобразной традиции – получать высшие награды на лучших конкурсных дегустациях мира

СОВЕТСКАЯ ЭПОХА

В советские времена предприятие специализировалось на первичном виноделии, и было одним из крупнейших в Советском Союзе. Виноградники Шабо были опорным пунктом для научных исследований. Здесь выращивали виноград самых разных сортов, и производили виноматериалы для тихих и игристых вин, большой популярностью пользовались также марочные вина.
В период горбачевской «антиалкогольной кампании» усилиями местных жителей удалось сохранить виноградные плантации и инфраструктуру предприятия. Но, все же в годы перестройки виноделие в Шабо постепенно пришло в упадок…

НОВАЯ ЭПОХА ВИНОДЕЛИЯ

Многовековые традиции шабского виноделия легли в основу создания в 2003 году компании «Шабо» - украинского винодельческого комплекса с полным циклом производства. Деятельность компании направлена на выращивание и переработку винограда, производство и реализацию алкогольной продукции Shabo, созданной исключительно из отборного винограда.
За короткий срок предприятие стало лидером отрасли. Сегодня широкий ассортимент продукции Shabo представлен во всех регионах Украины, а также в Грузии, Израиле, Китае, Польше, Латвии, Эстонии, Бельгии, Франции, Дании, Чехии, США, Бразилии, Канаде, Азербайджане, Японии, Ираке, Норвегии и Великобритании.